Band Gears Up For 20th Anniversary In 2013

July 18, 2012, Santa Monica, CA:  Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, longtime purveyors, custodians and distillers of a modern big band swing sound are back and newly signed with Savoy Jazz.  In celebration of twenty years bringing an irrepressible groove to the adoring masses, the band has recorded “RATTLE THEM BONES”—their eighth studio album.  Founding members Scotty Morris and Kurt Sodergren, plus the five other original members continue to keep their sound fresh coming off the 2009 release of their tribute to Cab Calloway.  Produced by Morris and Joshua Levy with Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, the band has honed their musicality to a fine point, effortlessly striking a balance between respect for the authenticity of the swing sound and the original ideas they incorporate into the mix.  The band features Morris (vocals, guitar, banjo), Joshua Levy (piano, arranger), Kurt Sodergren (drums), Dirk Shumaker (acousti bass, vocals), Glen “The Kid” Marhevka (trumpet), Karl Hunter (soprano, alto, tenor saxophones and clarinet) and Andy Rowley (baritone saxophone, vocals).   Savoy Jazz will release “RATTLE THEM BONES” on September 4th. 

Big Bad Voodoo Daddy is truly a pioneering band having inspired a movement with their fierce dedication to fully inhabiting their particular musical world.  It’s a sound that spans many eras—think the prohibition era of “Boardwalk Empire” to the lounging swing of 60’s “Mad Men”.   With “RATTLE THEM BONES” Big Bad Voodoo Daddy has put together an album of originals and hand-picked covers that would evoke a certain mood—a mood influenced by some surprisingly diverse sources ranging from Mark Twain to Randy Newman, Django Reinhardt to George Gershwin.

Says Morris: “The goal with every album is to take the listener on a unique journey… Often as we start making sense of the material, the record tells us what it’s going to be, and it was clear this time that we weren’t going to be limited to a single decade or vibe. We feel like we left Cab and started thinking about Don Draper and Mark Twain and along the way some fascinating ideas emerged that turned Rattle Them Bones into a celebration of the landscape of American music we love so much. “

  1. The Adventures Of
  2. Diga Diga Do
  3. The Jitters
  4. Let It Roll Again
  5. It Only Took A Kiss
  6. She’s Always Right (I’m Never Wrong)
  7. Why Me?
  8. Devil’s Dance
  9. It’s Lonely At The Top
  10. Still In The Mood
  11. Gimme That Wine
  12. 5-10-15 Times

For more information, visit:

Savoy Jazz is a unit of the Savoy Label Group (SLG).  SLG is the North American based division of Nippon Columbia, the oldest music company in Japan.  The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a Grammy Award winning and chart topping independent music company consistently outperforming competitors in key music categories as monitored by Billboard Magazine. SLG is led by Steve Vining and is based in Los Angeles, CA.

Kurt Nishimura